FML: Men rule!

Let me start by saying I don’t generally describe myself as a feminist. I’ve got my moments and have big ups for equality, but I don’t like the negative connotation that word projects. Also, I really do hate labels. But I have to say this country is absolutely ridiculous when it comes to men. Because if there’s anything that is perpetuated all over NZ, it’s that MEN RULE.

Actually, that’s not true. They (aka the powers that be) actually perpetuate that men are really, really stupid. I feel like that’s the only way that I can explain it.

First of all, there are the PSAs targeted toward men. Our favorite groan-inducing one is “mantrol”. Statistically, men in New Zealand are super bad at driving. It’s kind of nice to hear when people always talk about woman drivers. But as the ad shows below, it’s because apparently all male drivers are super dumb.

I mean, seriously, what driver doesn’t know to slow down in rain? That person should not have a driver’s license (I’m saying this fully realising what a terrible driver I am, btw…).

But what about PSAs for women? Well, they make sure that we know that we can breastfeed anywhere and should get a smear test more often. But, let’s be honest, it’s nice to know they care about women’s health. Most insurances in the US wouldn’t cover an abnormal papsmear test or even pay for ultrasounds.

My other worry is they think that men aren’t able to think about their nutritional wellbeing.There are so many products targeted toward men: man yoghurt, man ice cream, man dip and man bread (just to name a few). They’re apparently just so much better because they’re made for men by men. One such example is the Mammoth Supply Co. who say that man used to be the best job in the world. I can tell they are taking the piss, but it’s still a bit disconcerting. Also, the bad part is that I reallllllllly love Mammoth yogurt. I’m kind of addicted to it. I really want to hate it, I do. But it’s delicious. And I just can’t deprive myself of deliciousness.

There aren’t many “women” things unless you count all the low carb, tasteless beers that are targeted toward us. Sure, women might like those beers, but I know many, many men who enjoy them as well, and I personally dislike them.

I just think all of this is weird when put up against the fact that New Zealand was the first country to give women the right to vote and also the first country to elect a female Prime Minister.

Obviously, I’m not saying that the US is any better when it comes to sexism. We definitely don’t lead the change for equality. After all, the Burger King commercials for the “queen sized” burger have aired in both countries. And unfortunately, I’ve drunkenly marched into a Burger King here in New Zealand and demanded a “king size” just to prove I could eat it (and I did in about 3 seconds, exclaiming “Is that all you got?!” afterwards)…

Actually, maybe I’m the dumb one. – Jennifer

About Jennifer Holder

I like to dance, laugh and draw things on MS Paint. My life is basically TN -> NY -> NZ -> TN -> ??
This entry was posted in FML and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

