FML: Fast Internet

This entire weekend in Martinborough we’ve had to use the internet practically one at a time. The internet is just super sloooowwww. I wish I could say this is just how the countryside is, but it’s this way all over New Zealand.

Additionally, all internet charges you by megabyte, and if you run out for the month, you have to pay extra. And if you travel around New Zealand, almost no cities have free internet at any place besides McDonalds. Welly has it elsewhere, along the waterfront and most recently in the CBD, thanks to my place of work (I haven’t tested it but it’s apparently pretty fast but can’t be accessed as well indoors). However, we didn’t encounter too many other cities offering free internet.

Overall, getting online is a pain in the ass. Especially when you’re thousands of miles away from everyone you know in a tiny country that experiences sudden earthquakes. When the CHCH earthquake hit, Laurel and I didn’t have access to our emails and everyone thought we might have been affected.  Being in Wellington, I didn’t think twice about the earthquake affecting us. But not everyone knew where we were.

Basically, I’m looking forward to having internet that doesn’t suck. I also can’t wait to finally upload pictures and videos from my travels here, and I’m super excited about my future Spotify account. And of course, there’s Hulu and Netflix, but entertainment in general is a whole different ballgame (er, blog post).

I suppose I should note that I will be living in Tennessee with my parents, where internet is still a bit slow. Maybe after all this time I’ll be a bit more patient. Probably not. – Jennifer

About Jennifer Holder

I like to dance, laugh and draw things on MS Paint. My life is basically TN -> NY -> NZ -> TN -> ??
This entry was posted in FML and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

