NOM: Wine

To kick off this endeavor, I’m going to post about something that I developed a love for here in New Zealand, and am looking forward to having more of when I return to the States (and as I continue to travel around the world).  This first post is made even more appropriate by the fact that I’m sitting in a friend’s house in Martinborough, the first place I tried New Zealand wine (and where I just tasted some more at the Martinborough Wine Centre).

My drink of choice for years was solely ‘whiskey and ginger’ – everyone knew that’s what I wanted the second I walked in. The reasoning wasn’t because of my undeniable need to be the most dudely in the crowd, but rather because every other alcoholic beverage gave me a migraine. And of course, I really like the way it tastes. But don’t ask me about the difference between whisk(e)y and bourbon, because I don’t know. I’ve been asked that question about a billion times by guys at bars who think I might be the oracle of fermented grain. I’m not, so let’s leave it at that.

Wine, however, I’ve figured out. Not in one of those “You guys, I like totally went to some wineries and I did the swirl thing and I like totally know like what I’m talking about. Also, check out my portable spittoon.” More like, I’ve figured out what I like and what I don’t, but to each their own.

And what do I like? Well, none other than Martinborough’s world famous Pinot Noir. I don’t just like it, I love it. I also quite like Sauv Blanc, but these days I’m leaning toward the redder side of things. Why do I like it? Oh, well obviously because it tastes good. I should probably be more descriptive…so, um, it’s not overly sweet and sometimes has a bit of a bite, like me.

Either way, just know this: New Zealand has developed my taste for wine. It’s not that I can now describe them (obviously), but I have become more adventurous and accepting to have my glass filled by something other than whiskey. And if you are lucky enough to find a reasonably priced bottle of New Zealand wine, go for Vynfields, Ata Rangi, Craggy Range or Cloudy Bay. –Jennifer

About Jennifer Holder

I like to dance, laugh and draw things on MS Paint. My life is basically TN -> NY -> NZ -> TN -> ??
This entry was posted in NOM and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NOM: Wine

  1. LJB says:

    Good to know! Maybe we can find some at the local shop.

Leave a Reply

